--- title: "NAS volume copy" slug: "nas-use-nasvolume-copy-classic" tags: ["NAS"] updated: 2026-09-17T09:18:23Z published: 2026-09-17T09:18:23Z canonical: "guide.ncloud-docs.com/nas-use-nasvolume-copy-classic" stale: true --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://guide.ncloud-docs.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # NAS volume copy Available in Classic NAS volume copy is a feature that allows you to replicate a NAS volume in a Classic environment to a VPC environment. Connect to NAVER Cloud Platform's portal, and then click the **Menu** > **All Services** > **Storage** > **NAS** > **NAS Volume Copy**, in that order, to connect to the **NAS Volume Copy** menu. ## Description of the NAS volume copy page The NAS volume copy page and its main functions are as follows. ![image.png](https://cdn.document360.io/6998976f-9d95-4df8-b847-d375892b92c2/Images/Documentation/image%28269%29.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-27T15%3A01%3A47Z&se=2026-10-27T16%3A01%3A47Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=y8mT2b12AJhLWHPixPv4%2BDtMmP%2BcJU4e9o%2FFzpUmMHs%3D) | No | Area | Item | Description | | --- | --- | --- | --- | | ① | Menu name | Target setting | Button to set the target volume to copy the volume to the VPC | | ② | Basic functions | Stop copying | Function to stop copying | | | | Resume copying | Function to resume the stopped copying | | | | Disconnect | Disconnects a created NAS volume copy | | | | Synchronize volume | Function for real-time synchronization with the target volume. Only available when the copying is **stopped**. | | ③ | Copying information | Copying status | Displays the current copying status (initial/incremental/stopped/resumed/failed copy, etc.) | | | | Creation date | Date the NAS volume copy was created. | | | | Cancellation date | Date the NAS volume copy was cancelled. | | | | Connection status | Displays the current connection status (ready/created/disconnected) of the NAS volume copy. | ## How to use NAS volume copy The steps to set up the NAS volume copy are as follows. ![nas-use-nasvolume-copy-classic_02_ko.png](https://cdn.document360.io/6998976f-9d95-4df8-b847-d375892b92c2/Images/Documentation/nas-use-nasvolume-copy-classic_02_en.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-27T15%3A01%3A47Z&se=2026-10-27T16%3A01%3A47Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=y8mT2b12AJhLWHPixPv4%2BDtMmP%2BcJU4e9o%2FFzpUmMHs%3D) ### 1. Create a volume copy To use the NAS volume copy function, you need to create and set up a copy target (source volume). The following describes how to create it. 1. From NAVER Cloud Platform console's Classic environment, click the **Menu** > **All Services** > **Storage** > **NAS** menus, in that order. 2. Click the **NAS Volume** menu. 3. Click the **[Create volume copy]** button. 4. When the **Create volume copy** pop-up window appears, check the volume information and then click the **[Create]** button. Note - You cannot add/duplicate a volume that has already been copied. Disconnect the existing connection and try again. - If the volume usage exceeds 90%, you cannot create one. Expand the capacity to get at least 10% free space and try again. - If you change the capacity of the volume to which the volume copy is connected, the capacity of the NAS volume set as target in the VPC environment is also changed. Caution NAS Volume Copy can only be used in the same Zone. ### 2. Setup copying (target setting) The following describes how to set up copying. 1. From NAVER Cloud Platform console's Classic environment, click the **Menu** > **All Services** > **Storage** > **NAS** menus, in that order. 2. Click the **NAS Volume Copy** menu. 3. Click the **[Set target]** button. 4. When the **Set target** pop-up window appears, enter a name for the copied volume and click **OK** button. Caution The NAS volume copy function can only be used to the same zone. Note If you do not have an account during copying CIFS, enter the account and password. ### 3. Start copying When the copy setting is completed, copying starts. When copying starts, the copying status changes to **Initial copying**, and when the copy is completed, it changes to **Incremental copy**. Caution - During copying, some functions of the target volume (write, change capacity, delete, etc.)are restricted - The functions that are restricted during initial and incremental copying are different, proceed with care. Note After initial copying, automatic copying (incremental copying) is performed every 15 minutes. ### 4. Stop copying The following describes how to stop copying. 1. From NAVER Cloud Platform console's Classic environment, click the **Menu** > **All Services** > **Storage** > **NAS** menus, in that order. 2. Click the **NAS Volume Copy** menu. 3. Click the **[Stop copying]** button. 4. When the **Stop copying** pop-up window appears, click the **[Stop]** button. 5. Check the copying status of the volume. - The copying status switches to **Stopping**. Caution - The **Stop copying** functions is not available when the progress status is **Initial copying**. - When the copying status is **Stopped**, some functions of target volume (write files, change capacity) are restricted. ### 5. Resume copying The following describes how to resume copying. 1. From NAVER Cloud Platform console's Classic environment, click the **Menu** > **All Services** > **Storage** > **NAS** menus, in that order. 2. Click the **NAS Volume Copy** menu. 3. Click the **[Resume copying]** button. 4. When the **Resume copying** pop-up window appears, click the **Resume** button. 5. Check the copying status of the volume. - The copying status changes from **Resuming** to **Incremental copying**. ### 6. Disconnect The following describes how to disconnect. Note To disconnect, you must first change the copying status of the volume to Stopped. 1. From NAVER Cloud Platform console's Classic environment, click the **Menu** > **All Services** > **Storage** > **NAS** menus, in that order. 2. Click the **NAS Volume Copy** menu. 3. Click to select the volume you want to disconnect, and then click the **[Stop copying]** button. - The copying status changes to **Stopped**. 4. Click the **[Disconnect]** button. - The copying status changes to **Disconnecting**, and when the disconnection is complete, it changes to **Disconnected**. Caution - If you want to copy after disconnecting the volume, you need to create a new volume copy. - For data consistency, we recommend that you perform a volume synchronization before disconnecting. ## FAQ The following covers frequently asked questions and answers for NAS volume copy. Q. The snapshot I previously set for a volume does not work. A. When you set up a volume copy function, snapshots are automatically created for the source volume. If snapshots have already been set, the set snapshot capacity may be exceeded, snapshot creation will be limited, and the automatic creation cycle setting will be disabled. The use and deletion of previously created snapshots is restricted while the volume is being copied. Q. The copying progress status is **Copying failed**. A. It might fail due to insufficient snapshot space. Stop copying, increase the original volume, and then click the **[Resume copying]** button to resume copying. If the error still occurs after resuming copying, contact the Customer Center on NAVER Cloud Platform portal.